Reviews

 Review from Cath ‘n’ Kindle in the UK – View

 Reviews: eMail (Surnames left off to protect privacy)

This book was a fascinating read for anyone who has suffered a brain trauma (like my wife), or who has faced their mortality with any serious medical condition. It was informative and inspirational, and I will be recommending it to many of my friends. Well worth the time and investment to read this heart felt story. I know the author does a radio show on braininjuryradio.com as well. Keep up the good work.  Dale H.

WOW!  So unusual! I am also a brain trauma survivor and  I realized as I was sitting back and really listening, that unlike so many books and such out there, this was not a “ME AND MY PROBLEM” thing at all!  This was a relate-able, for Everyone!!! Encouraging, informed, uplifting and relate-able to ALL!  I listened from every scope of myself, from every angle, and I was right there!.  Every time you used the word “I” it was me talking, speaking my own story!  Amazing!  Brain Injury Revelation, lol, finally connected to what I wanted to say about what I was hearing!  Jeni S.

I did not have an NDE, but rather an After Death Experience (ADE). Just heard you on Coast to Coast & would be interested in talking to you about your experience. Best regards with your book. I look forward to reading it! I can be reached at: XXXX C. Lewis

Heard you on Coast To Coast. Ordered your book on Amazon. Can’t wait to read it. Looked you up.. you are beautiful just like one of my three daughters, 36, 33, and 30 years of age. Can’t wait to read your book. Send your book as George said to him and hopefully you will be a guest. Would love LOVE to hear you as a guest!
Love to you and all your precious husband and all your wonderful dogs, Sally B. Jackson, Ms. area

I am without words to describe how much your book has impacted me. Maybe in a week or so I will be able to best describe it or even identify it. This is a book that many parts I will keep reading over and over. To know you is a gift and learn from you is another gift. All I can say is Wow!!! God Bless. Angie

Hi Kim! Finished the book! What a great, heartfelt, well-written story! xxoo  Marleen

Keep me posted on your book signings and happenings. I am not only proud of you; I am also inspired by you. Van

Hi Kim…I just finished your book and I am just blown away! YOU are fabulous! Everything just flowed beautifully and it was so captivating. So many miracles. Wendy

Kimberly Justus, one of our new members, just published her first book entitled In a Flash, Miracles Here and Beyond. This inspiring book tells the story of Kim’s life threatening experience after suffering a brain aneurysm. The book encourages those who have faced near death events, or have overcome seemingly impossible odds. A book filled with hope and optimism, and is one that you will not want to miss. Suzanne

The story you told was tragic, fascinating and inspirational. I plan to recommend it to those in my support groups. I am still appalled at the missed diagnosis. When you were worse the next morning I can’t believe that the doctor said just reduce your pain medicine. My thought is that a person with such symptoms would have been diagnosed differently. Your book arrived via UPS at 3:30. I read it once, then skimmed it a second time that night, highlighting key points. Couldn’t put it down. James.

I am almost done reading your book and it is AMAZING. Can I buy three more for friends? Casey.

I couldn’t get to it on FB, but I just got off the website. I think this is fantastic. People talk about how we should write a book and you did. I’m going back on the site because I want to see how to purchase a copy! Congratulations! ♥ Donna

It was a loving, sensitive journey that you selflessly shared. It made me love and respect you more than I could imagine. Particularly because you were already quite special to me. CJ

I finished reading your book & wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it. I think you did a great job. Very moving in many places.  I had to stop reading a few times to get through those “tear jerking” moments. Keep up the good work & I’ll be first in line for your next venture. You did such a great job you can’t stop now. Mary

Dear Kim, after getting your message on BAF and seeing the link,I wentand purchased your book on Kindle, polishing it off before breakfast. It made great reading, and kept me engrossed to the very last page ….amazing, since I find it difficult focus at the moment ! I share some of your interests in life, the main one being animal welfare, volunteering at the local animal sanctuary. Sadly no pets allowed where I live, but I’m one of the “crazy ex pat women” that go out and feed the stray dogs on the road side. My faith has been challenged following my annie and near death experience, and I’m slowly pondering how to structure my life from here in a more meaningful way. Up until 5 years ago I was an educational social worker and lecturer, which I loved, but since arriving in Jamaica, I have not been working, other than some spasmodic voluntary work. Your book has boosted my energy levels and got me feeling fired up to do some more connecting with my community. I know I have some more to give, so bring it on ! I Think that what you have achieved Kim, is awesome, and you continue to push ahead despite the challenges you have. Thank you so much for your connection on BAF and publishing your book, which my family is also going to read. I look forward to being in contact with you and reading some more of your beautiful poetry. Best wishes, Mandy

Well, I finished “In a Flash, miracles from here and beyond”, I thought it to be a well-written chronicle of your spiritual journey and struggles with surviving a ruptured brain aneurysm…I am having a difficult time verbalizing my thoughts, I don’t know why- perhaps it is “too close to home” for comfort since I’m recovering myself? All said and done, I enjoyed the book very much! Thank you, Kim- I did/do find the book uplifting! I love the stories in the book. I really enjoyed reading it and, in fact, have already referred back to it…..I had my highlighter handy the first time I read it   Barb

I just wanted you to know you have an amazing energy…I am Chris I am the one that gave you the minnie reading last night on chris’s show. You have such a purpose on this earth!!!! it was an honor hearing your story. You have a great gift cherish it well my friend… From Jazzed

You have found another niche. I’m very proud of you. You’ve inspired me to look outside the box and to try new things thanx for that I needed a kick and you gave me just the right one.” Patti

Sweetie, I am thoroughly moved by and so enjoying reading your book! It’s thoughtful, honest, and has a matter-of-fact description of events that is accessible and refreshing, without shades of self-pity or maudlin sentiment. And always your gratitude shines through.  You write about “Joe” with respect and kindness, too. You rocked this story. Thank you for having the guts to share your words. Happiest of holidays and see you soon. Love, Leslie.

 Reviews: Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, March 1, 2013
By Screamin’Reel
This book was very inspirational and I really enjoyed it. The author’s description of her grandfather brought back fond memories of my own grandfather. Her struggle and determination to regain her life after suffering a tragedy reaffirms the idea of “Never Give Up!”

5.0 out of 5 stars An NDE story, then a life lived, September 15, 2012
By T. Hubbell “Writer”
Why do we have NDE’s? Are they a glimpse of Heaven or chance to change the way you live your life when you come back? I loved the way the author deals with her life after the NDE. In a Flash is about a young womans’s death, then the life that followed.

In the past year I have read at least 20 NDE books by everyone on in the field. There is an American fascination with ‘proof’ of life after death, You can see it in the rather bizarre Ghost hunting reality tv shows to the proliferation of every manner of NDE book or New Age / traditional spiritualist medium and psychic. Traditional religions have always promised an afterlife, usually after living a good life within the precepts or faith of said faith. Still outside of the mystical visions of a few Saints or Holy Men, the NDE is `Unknown County’ to Traditional religions.

Raymond Moody’s books try to take an objective medical approach to the experience; some NDE books are travel-logs of heaven; details of crystal cities, indescribable colors and sounds, spirit beings, angels or communication with God or Jesus. Most NDE experiencer’s come back with a message that we are all truly loved, created by God and need to tell us that we are all, `very truly one.’
Some of the Christian NDE’s see their experience as a validation of Christianity.
Anita Moorjani, a Hindu in Dying To Be Me saw, her NDE as a strictly spiritual experience. While millions of people world-wide have had NDE’s, (there is even a scale or list of common NDE elements,) the fact is the vast majority of people will never have an NDE.

Other than the fact that almost all NDE’ers has a positive experience, (Hellish experiences seem to be confined to be confined to those that believe in hell), the question remains, “What do they mean?”

The three things I have been able to pull out of all the NDE books I have read are:

1. Some people go deeply into the NDE, yet never crossing into heaven or the afterlife and are sent back with a `mission.’ That seems to be the gist of the Danion Brinkley books.
2. Almost every NDE book describes the realization that we are all loved, all created by God, and we are all part of a ‘fabric of life, time, love, hope, family, time and creation that is indivisible and eternal.’ Some NDE’ers have seen past or future lives, some have not.
3. Most of those that are sent back are stopped at a line, by a loved one they know are someone in their family tree, and told that “it is not your time” and have to return to their body. These NDE’s seem to be the most common if you look at You-Tube. Yet every NDE changes the life the experiencer once they return. They are not afraid of death, reluctant to share their experience for fear of ridicule by medical professionals or the clergy, and yet are profoundly changed in the way they see life and treat people.

That to me seems to be the most important message of the NDE phenomena; if you have seen the promised land, then you live your life to the fullest. Kindness and love become a way of life. Hope and faith is replaced with knowledge and assurance.
Kim Justus in her book, In A Flash, is about an NDE plus a life. If you are looking for details about Crystal Cities, or Spirit guides you will not find it here. But her death and NDE are fascinating in that a beloved Grandfather that had passed-on, is the one that tells her she has to return to her body. This Grandfather figures prominently later in the book. As Kim lives her life to the fullest, she come to find out more and detail about this man, his life, often in miraculous ways. More importantly Kim was open to `big miracles in small places.’ Kim’s involvement in the story of Tom and Bob is an impossible series of coincidences that bring healing to father and son that is more important than the type of music playing in heaven or the color of the flowers or the names of your Guardian Angels.

Kim is very candid about her early wild life, drinking, drugs, ambition and money that so often blind us when we are young. Truth be told, Kim did come back with a mission; the Brain Aneurysm that almost killed her, lead her to seek out others that have survived the condition and work with a foundation to help those suffering from the condition and the after effects.

It you want to read about and NDE, plus a life, I highly recommend In A Flash.

5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Story and Very Entertaining, August 10, 2012
By Toby C
This book was recommended by a friend, and it was well worth the purchase! From the opening chapter to the last, I couldn’t put this book down! I tend to read biographies and non-fiction, so this book was right up my alley. Even though it was a very quick read, it wasn’t due to lack of substance or overall story line. It’s just that good of a page turner. I wanted to know what happened next in Kim’s life, and about her journey to recovery. The only thing I hope is that Kim follows up this book with an update to her journey. I am recommending this book to all of my friends. Don’t hesitate to for a minute on buying this book.

5.0 out of 5 stars One Day at a Time, August 2, 2012
By ChristineMM
I finished “In a Flash” a few nights ago. I feel that Kim Justus did an awesome job with her story. Being a Ruptured Brain Aneurysm Survivor, I feel that she did a wonderful job portraying the reality of the things we go thru and experience; whether in the begining when it first happens or along the way on our roads to “normalcy.” No one can quite 100% understand it, unless having gone thru this themselves. I totally get it and see many of my own experiences in her story. I felt her pain with certain situations, that us survivors face, with or without a support group. Great story line and great portrayal of your journey thus far. Nice job!

5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant Account of a Real Suvivor, June 28, 2012
By Customer2011
Kim Jefferson Justus leads us through her amazing round-trip between living fully, being a moment from dying, and learning to live again. As a fellow survivor of a ruptured brain aneurysm, I found her account haunting, horrifying, and humbling in how she tells of her hard-fought recovery and ultimate triumphant return to the land of the living. This account is honest and at times painfully poignant but gracefully told. As a registered nurse, I was particularly impressed with how well Ms. Justus has researched the important medical information about this condition that impacts more lives than you may realize. The account of her Near-Death-Experience is unique and completely believable. Kudos to the author for having the courage to share her story and to credit the many people who helped in her courageous recovery. I can highly recommend this book for anyone who is affected by this incredibly difficult life-changing (and life-ending for some) bomb that can detonate in a moment — be they a survivor, a caregiver, a family member, a friend and particularly for health care providers who need to hear our stories.

5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Experience, January 31, 2012
By builder
This review is from: In a Flash: Miracles Here and Beyond (Paperback)
kim takes you on a roller coaster journey through shock, pain, hope and happiness. It is a unique journey in its details but real life in a broader sense. Kim’s courage can give hope to us all.

5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary account of survival against the odds, January 13, 2012
By Beeshon
This review is from: In a Flash: Miracles Here and Beyond (Kindle Edition)
This is an extraordinary account of a young woman who survived an aneurysm of the middle cerebral artery.

Kim was an intelligent, confident, focussed, determined, successful, and talented young woman who enjoyed life to the full, when, in a car on the way to a business meeting, she suddenly felt indescribably ill. Her condition was initially misdiagnosed, but it was eventually discovered that Kim had an aneurysm. The rate of survival of this is slightly over 50%; however, the full recovery percentage of those who do survive is under 50%. Kim was one of the lucky ones and she bravely shares her experiences in this book.

I felt while reading this that her trials must have been very difficult to write about – against many odds, Kim survived a highly risky brain operation and her recovery was tough and challenging to say the least. The physical and mental after-effects of her ordeal make it very hard for her to write – the details of these are explained. It’s important not to forget too how emotional the journey must have been – for her, especially, and how devastating the effects of her touch-and-go path to recovery must have been on her close friends and family. However, determination and resolution accompany her on her quest to leading as near normal a life as possible. Never once is there a trace of self-pity. You cannot fail to be awed by Kim’s unwavering ambition to succeed, despite her post-operative marriage sadly failing and later, the loss of a dear friend to cancer. Kim’s strength is quite extraordinary – she asks herself, as many of us must do sometimes – why am I still alive, why did I survive, when someone, like her dear late friend who was kind, selfless and almost flawless, did not.

Kim believes `divine intervention’ played a key part in her survival and talks at length about her faith in God (or perception of God) and how she believes He helped her through her gruelling ordeal. I am one of those people who attribute such `miracles’ to science and medicine along with a very large helping of luck. What I believe, however, is immaterial. Kim had and has infinite fortitude, strength and perseverance and after reading her book, I realise it’s not for me to question from where or whom she garners those qualities.

Kim’s account of her `nightmare’ is compellingly written. She is truly an inspirational lady – and just in case anyone was disconcerted by the past tense in “Kim was an intelligent, confident, focussed, determined, successful, and talented young woman who enjoys life to the full”, I should just emphasise that she still is. Very definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars Awe inspiring, December 25, 2011
By Yrsilly
This review is from: In a Flash: Miracles Here and Beyond (Paperback)
Kim Justus’ brutally honest reflections on her passage from being a victim of a brain aneurysm to becoming a survivor of one is a compelling story that makes one question how they would react to any situation in which they have lost all control over their life and how they would work their way back. Ms. Justus’ journey from her near death experience to the woman she is today gives us all hope that we too can become better individuals in the face of adversity. Kudos to this woman who demonstrates for us that while life may not return to as it once was before, it can be as rich and fulfilling as it once was through reflection and determination.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Messge of Hope & Faith, December 20, 2011
By Cecelia
This review is from: In a Flash: Miracles Here and Beyond (Paperback)
Many of us have a strong fear of the unknown, especially what happens after death. “In a Flash” was very uplifting because it took me through a near-death experience and showed me how Kim Justus replaced desperation and fear with hope and faith. It has inspired me to focus on today and not worry about the future. “In a Flash” has also reminded me that life is good and there is a power greater than myself that will give me strength whenever I need it. Thank you Kim Justus for sharing your story and showing me there are miracles all around us.

5.0 out of 5 stars Faith Hope and Love, December 19, 2011
By mujer46
This review is from: In a Flash: Miracles Here and Beyond (Paperback)
Justus tells an inspiring story of dealing with challenges honestly, compassionately and bravely. The universal issues of obstacles, pain, illness,kindness and faith are familiar to the reader. The overwhelming message is hope. Hope for all of us. I have no doubt that she received a divine message from God.

5.0 out of 5 stars In a Flash Review, December 18, 2011
By Chris OB
This review is from: In a Flash: Miracles Here and Beyond (Paperback)
In a Flash is an amazing story of a woman’s survival, recovery and life after a near death experience. It gives you just enough information to keep you wanting more. It is a page turner and a quick read. It grabs your attention right from the start. Once I started it I couldn’t put it down until I finished it.

 Reviews: Barnes & Noble

4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, May 24, 2012
By bulbous
Very good read-as an aneurysm survivor I could totally relate. I’ve had 8 brain surgeries as a result, so it brought back memories to read of Kim’s experience. Its providing inspiration for my book.

5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary account of survival against the odds, Jan 13, 2012
By Beeshon
This is an extraordinary account of a young woman who survived an aneurysm of the middle cerebral artery. Kim was an intelligent, confident, focussed, determined, successful, and talented young woman who enjoyed life to the full, when, in a car on the way to a business meeting, she suddenly felt indescribably ill. Her condition was initially misdiagnosed, but it was eventually discovered that Kim had an aneurysm. The rate of survival of this is slightly over 50%; however, the full recovery percentage of those who do survive is under 50%. Kim was one of the lucky ones and she bravely shares her experiences in this book. I felt while reading this that her trials must have been very difficult to write about – against many odds, Kim survived a highly risky brain operation and her recovery was tough and challenging to say the least. The physical and mental after-effects of her ordeal make it very hard for her to write – the details of these are explained. It’s important not to forget too how emotional the journey must have been – for her, especially, and how devastating the effects of her touch-and-go path to recovery must have been on her close friends and family. However, determination and resolution accompany her on her quest to leading as near normal a life as possible. Never once is there a trace of self-pity. You cannot fail to be awed by Kim’s unwavering ambition to succeed, despite her post-operative marriage sadly failing and later, the loss of a dear friend to cancer. Kim’s strength is quite extraordinary – she asks herself, as many of us must do sometimes – why am I still alive, why did I survive, when someone, like her dear late friend who was kind, selfless and almost flawless, did not. Kim believes ‘divine intervention’ played a key part in her survival and talks at length about her faith in God (or perception of God) and how she believes He helped her through her gruelling ordeal. I am one of those people who attribute such ‘miracles’ to science and medicine along with a very large helping of luck. What I believe, however, is immaterial. Kim had and has infinite fortitude, strength and perseverance and after reading her book, I realise it’s not for me to question from where or whom she garners those qualities. Kim’s account of her ‘nightmare’ is compellingly written. She is truly an inspirational lady – and just in case anyone was disconcerted by the past tense in “Kim was an intelligent, confident, focussed, determined, successful, and talented young woman who enjoys life to the full”, I should just emphasise that she still is. Very definitely.

 Reviews: Authors

Kim Justus has chronicled her journey of miraculous recovery from a life-threatening ruptured brain aneurysm in this deeply personal memoir. Her descriptive account of how it feels to experience extreme levels of trauma allows the reader to empathize fully with the magnitude of helplessness and pain that comes from receiving a misdiagnosis. Precious time was lost as a result, preceding a complex surgical procedure that could have either killed her, or left her permanently disabled.

The skilled surgeon who saved Kim’s life “just happened” to be in her home town at the right moment; one of many events that fall into place one after the other, in a series of answered prayers. The aftermath is a story of hope and enlightenment, woven into chapters that speak to the nature of shared revelation as Kim’s influence brings unexpected healing into the lives of others.

This book will find its way into the libraries of those who will benefit most from its breadth and scope. With topics related to “paranormal” experiences now dominating lists of popular contemporary novels, this true story will captivate readers who may not often choose books from the “nonfiction” shelves.

I encourage all who seek reassurance that divine intervention exists to read this book, as it overflows with evidence that we are never alone. The “peace that passeth all understanding” can and does arise out of the most dire circumstances.

Thank you Kim, for coming forward to share your story of light’s never-ending victory over darkness.

Marcia Quinn Noren
Author of “Joan of Arc: The Mystic Legacy”

When I picked up the book, In a Flash, by Kim Jefferson Justus, I found something quite different from what I expected. I thought there would be a lengthy discussion of near death experiences and their usual similarities. That is not the case. Kim takes us through her life, the ups and the downs and points out the blessings of the many “Flashes” she has experienced.
Motivated by a unbelievably frighteningly experience, Kim has been drawn to the need to record and report her experiences. Over and again, she relates the numerous times God’s plans has been made manifest in her life. She is certanly not just sailing through her days here on earth, rather she experienced more than her share of God moments, and shows us how she navigated her way through them. She is insightful and motivating.

In my favorite part of the book, she explains a wonderful encounter with her grandfather. I have grand children, and I hope one of them will hold me in the same regard she holds her grandpa.

In a Flash, reminds me of Marty Hagen’s hymn, adapted from St. Paul’s letter to the Corinthians. “Eye has not seen, ear has not heard what God has readied for those who love Him.” Kim’s words give us an inkling of what it must be like in the next life, while at the same time telling us how valuable this life is.

Maurice C
Author of “God is at the Meeting”

Comments are closed.